There Are Now 7 Love Languages

Cropped Hands Gesturing Heart Shape Against Pink Background

Photo: Getty Images

You've probably heard of the 5 love languages-- words of affirmation, quality time, physical touch, actives of service, and receiving gifts-- but new research shows that there might actually be 7 love languages.

A new survey of over 500,000 people came up with a list of seven love styles: Activity, appreciation, emotional, financial, intellectual, physical, and practical. 

Here’s the breakdown as written on

Activity: People who focus on the Activity love language feel special and valued when their partner takes an interest in their hobbies and activities and makes an effort to enjoy hobbies and interests together.
Appreciation: People who focus on the Appreciation love language feel loved when their partner gives them compliments, praise and thanks. They appreciate hearing explicitly what their partner likes and admires about them.
Emotional: Those who focus on the Emotional love language feel loved when their partner connects with them and supports them through difficult and scary emotions. Being present for the highs and lows is very important to those with the Emotional love language.
Financial: People with the Financial love language feel loved when their partner is generous with resources and sees value in spending money to bring their partner pleasure and joy. This love language may be expressed through gifts or just making space in the family budget for your partner's enjoyment.
Intellectual: People with the Intellectual love language like to connect through the mind. They feel loved when their partner values their intelligence, respects their opinion and thoughtfully discusses important issues.
Physical: People with the Physical love language feel loved when they receive physical affection—hugs, holding hands and snuggles. They want their partners to show they're attracted to them and initiate loving touch.
Practical: People with the Practical love language feel loved when their partner chips in with everyday duties and responsibilities. They feel cared for when their loved ones do chores and offer help.

Source: Truity

Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content