I'm sure at one point or another we all had a lemonade stand that you set up at the end of your driveway in the dog days of summer hoping to get a couple bucks. Selling your Lemonade for a $1 a cup, and then your next door neighbor comes out and has 3 different flavors while you have one and they make more than you so you tell them, "you're not invited to my birthday." True story... that was me when I was 7. Can you blame me? I was an only child!
Well nowadays it seems like the law is cracking down on kids' lemonade stands for not having permits (which I think is ridiculous). Just a little fun fact, there are only 15 states where it's totally legal for a kid to run a LEMONADE STAND without a permit! It's true. Thankfully here in Minnesota it's legal to have a lemonade stand without a permit. The other legal states are California, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New York, North Dakota, Texas, Utah, and Vermont. A lot of kids have even wound up getting tickets or fines from local governments in the other 35 states.
Apparently, a lot of kids have even wound up getting tickets or fines from local governments in the other 35 states. Since that's ridiculous, last year, Country Time Lemonade offered to help kids pay permit fees and fines on their lemonade stands. It looks like they're doing it again this summer, you can get up to $300 if "The Man" cracks down on your lemonade stand.